Comment 1

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2015: Winners List

The 30th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards were given out at a ceremony on Saturday, February 21 in Santa Barbara, California with the awards being fairly divided between four movies with Alejandro Inarritu’s Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) winning the most awards with three.

Best Feature went to Alejandro Inarritu’s Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), but the award for direction was given to Richard Linklater for Boyhood.

Julianne Moore continued her run by taking the Independent Spirit Award for her lead performance in Still Alice, while Michael Keaton took the lead male performance for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and Patricia Arquette was honored for her supporting role in Boyhood.

Two awards were also given to Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash, for supporting actor J.K. Simmons and for Tom Cross’ editing, and two to Dan Gilroy’s Nightcrawler for Screenplay and First Feature.

Birdman cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki’s award made it three for the movie that may be the frontrunner for tomorrow night’s Oscars.

Justin Simien received the Independent Spirit Award for First Screenplay for his film Dear White People, while Land Ho! took the John Cassavetes for Best Feature made for less than $500,000.

Citizenfour and Ida won for documentary and international film.

The Full List of Independent Spirit Awards Winners: 

Best Feature – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Director – Richard Linklater for Boyhood
Lead Male – Michael Keaton for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Lead Female – Julianne Moore for Still Alice
Supporting Male – J.K. Simmons for Whiplash
Supporting Female – Patricia Arquette for Boyhood
Screenplay – Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler
Cinematography – Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Editing – Tom Cross for Whiplash
Best First Feature – Nightcrawler
First Screenplay – Justin Simien for Dear White People
John Cassavetes Award – Land Ho!
Documentary – Citizenfour
International Film – Ida
Robert Altman Award – Inherent Vice
Special Distinction Award to Foxcatcher
Piaget Producers Award –  Chad Burris, Elisabeth Holm and Chris Ohlson
Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award – H., directors Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia
Lenscrafters Truer Than Fiction Award – The Kill Team, director Dan Krauss

This entry was posted in: Movies


Lucien writes on film, television and politics at and co-hosts the podcasts Above All Else and The 99%.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Live Blog: Academy Awards 2015 | cookies + sangria

Leave A Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s